Classroom Grant Application Results

2021 brings 47 Classroom Grant Applications

2020 and 2021 brought many changes to learning procedures for students across the world. One thing that has not changed is the need for some extra cash to assist teachers in making classroom learning more engaging!

Each year Mohave Electric Cooperative (MEC) awards 18 $200-classroom grants to teachers within our service territory that apply no matter the grade level. Funding for Classroom Grants comes from assigned capital credits at no cost to the cooperative or its members.

This year MEC received applications from teachers at 72% of all schools in our service territory. With 47 applications, a team of MEC employees evaluated the ideas submitted by teachers based on creativity, relevance to curriculum, classroom integration, and following the application instructions. The most applications came from Mohave High School submitting seven followed closely by MALC and Sunrise Elementary at six applications each.

Project ideas ranged from weather stations, geometry city, ocean arts projects, principles of flight, garden projects and so much more! It is always fascinating to see the creativity of great teachers.

The 18 selected teachers represent the schools: Camp Mohave Elementary, Cedar Hills Elementary, CRUHSD Academy, Desert Star Academy, Diamondback Elementary, MALC, Mohave High School, Montessori Preparatory Academy, Owens Elementary, River Valley High School, Sunrise Elementary, and Topock Elementary.

Congratulations to Aga Cook, Amelia St. Clair, Charity Lawrence, Earl Davis, Jennifer Garcia, Juvicel de Guzman, Kathleen Hunley, Kimberly Armstrong, Kirk Gebicke, Lisa Fulton, Maria Theresa Gonzaga, Mike Jackson, Monica Voss, Nikki Shott, Peggy Bare, Rhonda Capriglione, Sara Lipinski, and Trina Demers.

We thank all teachers who applied and appreciate their efforts to go the extra step to make learning fun and effective for the youth.


Founded in 1946, Mohave Electric Cooperative is a not-for-profit utility providing reliable, cost-effective power to 33,000 members, 42,000 meters, with more than 1500 miles of line spanning areas from Bullhead City to Topock on the west, Hualapai to Burro Creek to the south, and Nelson to the east.